If you are in the State of Washington, to carry a pistol concealed, you must have a valid Washington concealed pistol permit on your person. Washington has no reciprocity with any other state. The state in question would need to be contacted to ascertain if they would honor a permit issued in this state.
If you have been convicted of a Felony, under current RCW you are not eligible to obtain a permit until your 'Rights' have been restored through a court of law. We would suggest obtaining legal counsel to assist you in this process as we are prohibited from offering legal advice. If you have been convicted of any of the new misdemeanor laws relating to the Brady Act, i.e. Domestic Violence, etc., you have lost your right to carry a firearm and must go through the process of having your rights restored to be legal. Further information may be obtained from consulting the Revised Code of Washington 9.41. for a complete text of the law.
You must be 21 years of age and a United States citizen; not be under any court indictments; have no active warrants, pending trials, appeals on felony charges and no court orders against possessing of firearms. There is a process for an Alien to obtain a permit by conferring directly with the Department of Licensing-Firearms in Olympia, Washington, to start this process.
Concealed Pistol Permits may be obtained for Jefferson County residents at the headquarters office of the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office, located at 81 Elkins Road, Port Hadlock, Washington, 98339. Residents of other states may apply here also. However, residents of other cities located within Washington State must apply to their local jurisdiction. While residents living within Jefferson County can expect a 30 day period of waiting, the law provides our agency up to 60 days for out of state residents to process due to time needed for extra paperwork.
For an original permit, valid for (5) five years, you may expect to fill out a short application form providing us with pertinent information about yourself and be fingerprinted. The cost of an original permit is $60.00 and is payable upon application. You may expect this permit upon validation by our department to be mailed to your address when the process is complete. If you are denied for a firearms permit, your application fees WILL NOT be refunded.
A renewal must be paid for, signed, and will be mailed out in approximately (2) two weeks. A permit needing renewal must be accomplished within (90) ninety days prior to the expiration date at a charge of $32.00. Washington State Law allows renewal on an expired permit for up to (90) ninety days after the date, however, there is a $10.00 late fee, or a total of $42.00 charge. The permit will be mailed to the residence of record approximately (2) two weeks after application.
If a concealed pistol permit is lost/stolen, you may come in to the Sheriff's Office and apply for a replacement. There is a $10.00 fee payable for a replacement.
When paying by a personal check, there is a (15) fifteen business day waiting period applicable prior to processing to allow check to clear.
Business hours for obtaining firearms permits are Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00am and 5:00pm. Closed Saturday, Sunday, holidays and during regular business days from noon to 1:15PM for lunch. No appointment is needed.
Further information may be obtained by contacting our department during business hours.